A Little Something for the Weekend

Observing Murder – A Short Story Part 2

blue dress

Having made my decision to look first at newspaper reports, to see if I could find anything about the murder I had witnessed in my dream, it made sense to me to spend a couple of days in London where I could research properly. Online searching is all very well but there is nothing like doing it by hand, carefully reading through each little snippet of information just in case something has not been picked up by the search engines. My time was my own and, luckily, I had some money saved so I could afford to book into a London hotel for a couple of nights (nothing fancy you understand, just a basic hotel), and spend the days at Colindale where the British Library has its newspaper depository. Because it was already Thursday I decided to leave it until the Monday then, at least, I had the option of staying longer if necessary, especially as I had also decided to take a look at the scene of the crime itself.

For the first time in a long time I was feeling upbeat about things. I had something to do – at least it felt as though I did. I spent the weekend packing my case, gathering up my notepad, pencils, laptop and the notes I had made about my dream, and wrote out a plan of action. This was, of necessity, rather short. I had no idea what, if anything, I would find but I needed a plan behind me. I needed the reassurance that what I was doing had some structure – but mainly I needed to reassure myself that I was not going on a wild goose chase.

Read more