Crossing over one of the hundreds of bridges in Venice, and looking down, I couldn’t resist taking this photo.  Gondolas are ubiquitous in Venice, but I’ve never seen one from this angle before – so out came my phone…

They’re beautifully fitted and furnished – and cost a small fortune to hire.  No, I’ve never been in one.  

Just a few yards further up the canal, on the right-hand side, you can see there is a man climbing onto one of the other type of boats which ply the canals every day.  There are private boats, delivery boats, waste retrieval boats, taxi boats, boats for everything which would normally be done by car or wagon.

4 thoughts on “Venetian Gondolas

    1. They certainly have plumbing in Venice, though in hot weather the drains stink!! You walk over them everywhere you go. Pets: We saw quite a few dogs when we were there, most of them of the small pick up and carry type, though some of them were larger. There don’t seem to be many places where they can be walked, just the one park which we found as far as we know. It wasn’t very big as space is at such a premium. As for cats, I don’t recall seeing any, though I guess there must be cats as otherwise the rat population would be rampant. Venice is connected to the mainland via the railway so there’s no way it will be rat free.
      I’ve just read this back to myself and it makes Venice sound dreadful – it truly isn’t, it’s simply stunning.

      Like

      1. When I was managing a copy shop in the 90’s I had a customer who had immigrated here from Venice. He was forever bringing me post cards from there and encouraging me to go visit. I find myself wondering what kind of childhood you would have if you lived there with no fields and parks to run wild in. Are there lots of families there?

        Like

      2. I get the impression you would have to be extremely wealthy to live there. There must be some though as there were college kids walking round during lunch time. So many of the buildings are given over to hotels and apartments for tourists to stay in.
        Some of the larger buildings have gardens attached to them, but there aren’t very many of those. The shops are given over to expensive items specifically designed for the tourist market, even the shops with children’s clothes in are extremely expensive. We only encountered a few children when we were there, and they were with their parents on holiday.
        It’s a strange place to be honest, but so very very beautiful. The first time we visited, some 15 years or so ago, we were told that most of the people who worked there came from the mainland as they simply couldn’t afford to live in Venice itself.
        I can’t imagine spending my childhood there. As you say, no parks, no safe places to make your own, no fields at all. I wonder what it’s like when all the tourists have gone. Winter must be a very quiet period. Perhaps that’s when it comes into its own though and becomes the Venice that the Venetians know and love. I don’t know if you’ve ever read Miss Garnett’s Angel by Sally Vickers. It’s a wonderful book about an elderly English woman who goes to live in Venice in the last stage of her life. She rents an apartment somewhere in the middle of Venice and lives there throughout the winter when there are no tourists about. I read it a couple of years ago and I loved it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

