Oh my, I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last posted on my blog.  Why has it been so long?  Well for a start I’m working on Part Three of my series Dead and Talking.  It’s strange but whilst I know what has to happen in this book, and the whys and wherefors, I’ve been finding it difficult to sit down and just write.  I guess this has been reflected on my blog too.

There are a few reasons for this.  The first, and probably most important, is that we’re thinking of moving house at some point in the foreseeable future.  We’ve been discussing the advantages and the disadvantages of a move (costs for one), and the costs involved if we stay where we are (central heating system – no we don’t have central heating; re-decorating throughout; possibly re-wiring …).  Then we’d still have the problem of too many stairs and only one bathroom.  So, a move looks very likely.

Where to move to:  That’s the BIG question, though we’re homing in – so to speak.

Another reason I’ve not been writing is because I found I couldn’t approach it in the usual way.  You know, sit at the pc, press the ‘on’ button and let everything load up – then get on with it.  Oh no, the muse refused to say a word.  Maddening woman!   Instead I’ve been making do with snatching time during my lunch break and writing scenes and part scenes as they come to me.  Believe me, it’s a tedious way to work – but at least I’ve been able to get something down

Then, wonder of wonders, those amazing people at Scrivener let it be known that a beta version of Scrivener for IOS was being tested and would be available for ALL IOS devices within a very short time.  Well, that  blessed day arrived today – at some point when I was at work and unable to download it!  

I hurried home tonight and immediately opened up my iPad and downloaded the app.  Oh very happy me.  It’s even compatible with Windows when I update my pc version of Scrivener to the latest iPad syncing version.  Yay – I am one happy bunny right now.  I’ll have no excuse not to work on my novel – or the next one …

3 thoughts on “I’m still here – honest I am

  1. Hey Ruth! So your house mission isn’t complete yet… That’s a biggie, girl. It takes a lot of energy even when you’re just in the planning stages. Go with the flow! As to writing, I wonder if you just need some more intense motivation. NaNoWriMo is coming up in November. It would be a great time for you to really stretch your muscles on your book. I can’t remember if you said you’ve done it before. If not, the change to a more structured writing routine might shake things up a bit. Just a thought since your muse has taken a vacation.. If you’re close to the end of the book it might be beneficial. But we’ll always take you no matter HOW often we get you! {{{Ruth}}}

    Like

    1. Oh bless you Cheryl. I took Nano last year – it was a great experience. Am planning to do it again this November. What about yourself? The muse is obviously speaking to you at the moment. I’m loving the journey ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

