Every new day dawns with the promise of new possibilities, a brand new set of adventures, a chance to chase the rainbow which you just missed grasping in your hand yesterday.

The day, like all days ahead, remains unmade, waiting to be experienced, waiting to embrace you and pull you along in its wake.  It’s the sense of a new beginning, the limitless choices to be made, the myriad of options available, and it’s why I love this particular time of day.

Sunrise, for me, is a magical moment and one I love to be able to witness – more so than sunset, though I do my fair share of watching and capturing the end of the day’s sun too.  I do a lot of thinking in the early mornings as I walk my dog.  It’s a peaceful time with very little traffic around and I rarely see more than a couple of other early birds up and about (it’s just turned 5am when we start our walk).  The loudest sounds come from the birds, they sound warnings to each other as we pass underneath them. The blackbirds are the loudest of all and I’ve noticed they have a particular song as we approach and walk past, it sounds something like ‘pretty birdie, pretty birdie’, then, once we’re past, they sing ‘birdie gone, birdie gone’.

This image of a sunrise was taken whilst we were on holiday.  I’d got up specifically to witness the sunrise off Santorini and, boy, was I glad I’d made the effort.   

Do you have a favourite time of day?  

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Word – Sunrise

  1. An elf? Now I have a whole new picture of you in my mind 😉 I love the twilight too but I’m a morning person. My brain starts to go to sleep in the late afternoon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

