I came across a post today which resonated so fully with me.   You can find it here at https://nhwn.wordpress.com/2015/12/05/weekend-edition-writing-is-my-real-job/

I’ve always wanted to write, ever since I was a very young girl.  Unfortunately I lacked in self-confidence and anything and everything would knock the stuffing out of me.  It’s taken me many, many years to overcome this ridiculously crippling and self-defeating issue.  I really needed to get out of my own way.

I came to the realisation, some years ago, that I am perfectly capable of writing, and that I had a very good imagination.  However, it has taken me until very recently to find a medium through which to test the waters, so to speak.  For the past six months I’ve been using this blog to find my writing voice, to try out different writing styles, to stretch myself and discover what I enjoy writing.

Then, wonder of wonders, I came across numerous posts mentioning NaNoWriMo.  Well, I thought I ought to try and see if I could manage to keep up with the demands of writing a 50,000 word full draft in just 30 days.  It was daunting but also kind of exciting.  No-one would be there to tell me what I was writing was rubbish, only me, and I was quite happy with my efforts.  Now I have a first full draft which I will start working on after Christmas; a number of short stories; a whole raft of poems which I will be adding to; ideas for a series resulting from another short story (currently in 2nd draft), and plans for further short stories and novels in a notebook I take everywhere with me.

Whilst I can’t afford to give up the day job, I can afford to follow my dreams and write.

5 thoughts on “Is Writing a Real Job?

    1. This is what I love about the blogosphere, it’s full of lovely people with amazing blogs of their own who are so incredibly supportive towards others. Thank you for your lovely comment ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

