Now that NaNoWriMo is finished for this year I can, at last, get back to writing about other things which have been on my mind for a while.  During November I managed to plot out another two novels – nothing grand, just basic plots, one of which has a time-slip theme.  The problem is I want to start writing it now, before I’ve even started to work on reading through the first draft of the novel I’ve just spent a month pushing out of my head!

This writing lark is addictive and I’m loving it.  Now that we have a new dog I’m also loving getting up dark and early in the mornings – rain, wind, ice, it doesn’t matter at all.  The walks give me time to think about what I want to write, how I want to write it and why.  There’s something so calming to the soul just walking with a dog who demands very little from you except your company.   She’s settled in so quickly too – it’s as though she’s always been here.  Oddly enough, she reminds me of our last lab/collie cross who was 14 years old when we finally said goodbye to her.  The mannerisms are almost identical, she responds to the same gestures and words we used with her predecessor and is a total pleasure to have around.

At this time of the year my thoughts are, inevitably, also tuned into the festive season – and that means conjuring up some special meals to share with friends and family.  We’ve started making a list, checking it twice, wondering whether we’ve been naughty or nice ….. No, no, I’m getting a bit carried away there.  But, seriously, the lists are out in evidence now in our household.  We know what we’re cooking for Xmas Eve, when the neighbours come round for a meal, and for Xmas Day, when my parents will be joining us.  The tree goes up this weekend and the Xmas celebrations start this Thursday for me, in the form of a festive meal with work colleagues.

Anyone have anything special planned for the holidays?  Perhaps something you do every year and which makes Xmas for you?

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Back to posting

  1. Hallo Ruth, I’ve been away from the blogosphere for a while but just flew by for a catch up read -well done for completing your NanoWriMo goals 🙂 I hope you and your husband and your new dog are all well, safe, warm and not been flooded! It looks like it’s been a really dreadful weekend for Cumbria 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Colette, yes it’s been dreadful in some areas. Kendal (where I work), has been badly hit but, hopefully, the water will have subsided tomorrow. There was no way of getting through there today as access roads were closed. Other towns have fared far worse though and I feel so sorry for anyone affected – the damage will be awful. We’ve been lucky here, no flooding but our electricity was off all night. Back on this morning though for late breakfast. Hope all is well with you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Our grandchildren live quite a way away from us too. We keep in touch using Face time and phoning often, but it’s not the same as just having them down the road. We’re visiting our son, his wife and our youngest grandson before Xmas, then visiting our daughter, her husband and our eldest grandson just after Xmas (we only have two kids and they have one son each). It’s difficult when they live hours away isn’t it 😯

    Like

  3. We’re at that age where our holidays, especially Christmas and Easter, are winding down since our grandkids live so far away. Once I get their gifts in the mail, that’s kind of it.

    I was thinking when I was reading what you said about the dog responding to the same things as your other one, why not try to write a story from a dog’s point of view where your other dog comes back? Never seen anything like that done. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

