Thought I’d show you an image of my computer screen at the moment, which has a chapter outline of my novel showing in Scrivener.   It’s covered with virtual cards on a corkboard and each card has an empty piece of screen (the specific scene which I’ve already marked down on the card) attached to it.  That will be filled when I start writing on the 1st November.   I’m really loving the simplicity of using this amazingly sophisticated piece of softwear.  I’m currently only using the 30 day free trial, but I know I’m going to purchase the full version in the next week or so, and certainly before NaNoWriMo starts (a week come Sunday).

The most amazing thing about this programme is that the cards can be moved around to rearrange the chapter, or even moved into other chapters, and it takes the whole word processed file with it.  More, it sits in exactly the place in the story that you want it, no messing about with clever file names to make sure it’s in the right place.  Amazing.  Did I mention that I’m loving this programme?  Oh yeh, I remember I did.

I can also add notes relating to the whole document, which don’t appear on the text itself, and notes for the specific scene if I want to.  In fact, anything I want to add that I don’t want to appear in the novel, I can place in a separate file which is available for me to look at whenever I want to as it’s part of the project.  I can also open a split screen, which will be great for when I get to edit, edit, edit.  This will enable me to see two different parts of the novel at once, working on one or both.  That’s a long way in the future though, I haven’t written a word yet!

The best thing about it though is that it keeps my work surface clear of files and folders.  I wish this had been around when I was doing my PhD – so many different files, folders, index cards, corkboards, magazines, print outs of web pages … the list goes on and on.  Everything I need can now be kept in one place, my computer.  Total bliss.  I’ve also downloaded a trial of Scrivener’s sister programme, Scapple, which takes spider charts, mind showers, whatever you want to call them, to a whole new level.

 

9 thoughts on “Preparing for NaNoWriMo

    1. I only started using it a couple of weeks ago, having thought about it for weeks. Now I’m in love – what an amazing piece of soft wear it is. I’ve been using it to work on a short story I wrote a few weeks back, so I have some idea of its awesomeness, and now I’m really looking forward to getting to know it much, much better 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Every now and then you’ll probably get a notice for a free webinar to learn to use it. I signed up and did it. It was helpful. But it’s pretty easy to pick up the basics. My version is two years old so yours is probably a bit different. Enjoy!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

