I’ve just signed up for @NaNoWriMo and I’m looking forward to starting the challenge on the 1st November.

What I’m aiming for is a full first draft of my first novel – though I’ll settle for almost a full draft, as long as I complete the 50,000 words!  I’ve had a novel jumping around in my head now for the past three or four months, the characters are all there, the plot is almost all there and I even know where they live – I just need to get it out of my head and onto paper, so NaNoWriMo is the perfect tool to get me doing that.  I embrace structure and deadlines – I feel adrift if there is no real need to do something.  I’m as good as the next person at prevaricating so … roll on the 1st of November 🙂

12 thoughts on “NANoWriMo

  1. Well done for making the commitment Ruth, you’ll do great with it and I’d love to hear how it’s going along the way. There’s no way I could write that much to do NaNoWriMo, maybe next year. Not that I have a novel burning away at me compelling its way out 🙂 I was hoping to do the ‘How Writers Write Fiction mooc from Iowa, currently enrolled but not even keeping up with reading course material so far, so I might try that again next year and they’d clash. I need unpressured time at the moment but maybe trying December’s writing201… all best wishes for your NaNoWriMo, hope you enjoy it and can’t wait to be in the queue to grab a copy of your first novel – we all know you can do it Ruth 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t worry, my blog often seems to send comments to spam folders for some reason. 🙂 I hope NaNo has been helping you a lot. It may be a lot of work, but if it encourages you to get the words down, I’m sure it’ll be worth it.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I need the push Lynz – because NaNoWriMo has a definite finish date I know I’ll get it done. The finished result will be a very rough draft which will require month and months of working on, but at least I’ll have the core of the novel out of my system 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks – I’m determined to get what’s inside my head down in some form or another. As long as it’s locked up it will come to nothing. I know there’ll be lots of editing, re-writing, editing, editing and more editing afterwards, but that’s just part of the journey.
      Perhaps you’ll pick up your own draft and work on it again sometime, or perhaps you’ll decide the story just wasn’t right and something else is waiting to be written 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

