Today’s poem is in the form of an elegy – loss and longing – and also using the device enumerato or list.  The subject is flavour.  I had to add some humour though.

THE DAYS OF MY YOUTH

Oh how I long for the days of my youth
When cares were few and holidays long
When Christmas arrived without so much stress
For the event wasn’t mine to plan

Oh how I long for the days of my youth
When weekends brought treats and sleep-ins
When family meals meant roast dinners and pud
For mum was a great cook, no less

Oh how I long for the days of my youth
But what am I talking about?
I love Christmas now, I love all the fuss
The gifts wrapped, menus planned in advance

Oh how I long for the days of my youth?
No I don’t, not at all, I do not
I’m in charge of my life, what I do, what I eat
My adulthood’s simply a ball

Oh how I long for the days of my youth?
Why would I do that, what’s the point?
I know who I am, what I think, whom I love
I didn’t know in my youth, not at all

12 thoughts on “Writing 201: Poetry

  1. I like how you turned the elegy around in the third stanza. I think we all have spells when we wish ourselves back to the days of our youth, but then we realise that being older and wiser comes with its own perks. Oh, and the line ‘No I don’t, not at all, I do not’ is brilliant, very Dr. Seuss. Good stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

