This one was a tough one for me.  The subject = Face; the form = something found (e.g. words etc.); the device = a chiasmus or reversal.   Until five minutes ago I had no clue at all what to do, what to write, how to write it.  Then, out of the blue, my husband said ‘well, a face … could be a clock face …’  Inspired!

Sometimes you just need a kick to start the imagination engine!

Faces of Time

What time is it
Time goes so fast
I haven’t time to wait

What time is it
Time I went home
It’s time for tea at eight

What time is it
Fast goes the time
Oh, I arrived too late

What time is it
I’m older now
I cannot rush so fast

What time is it
Now, I’ve forgot
Alone now, I’m the last

What time is it
I’m old and grey
My time’s now gone and past

It is time
It is time
It is time

This is probably not what was meant but let me qualify it a little.  The face is represented by all the time-piece faces; the form (something found) are the words the faces drew out of me, the device is hidden somewhat but is represented by time outrunning, catching up with and, eventually, overtaking the narrator.

9 thoughts on “Writing 201 Poetry

Leave a Reply

