Below is today’s response to the assignment which is to write a poem in the form of an ode using a map as the subject and a metaphor as the device – the metaphor element I have not attempted.

I’ve often wondered, where did you go to all those years ago?
Last night I tried to find you,
Though I doubt you would want to know
How I closed my eyes, in hope that I
Could conjure up the mystic path you travelled
In fevered, dream-like state I searched alone for your footprints
The footprints which would have re-assured me
Of your once existence
I found them not, no sight of them, no sign you passed this way
Yet pass you did, there is no doubt –
My heart still feels your presence
Just there, just now, and there again.   But,
The road to where you are lies way beyond my ken
I cannot see where you have gone nor why you left us then
You left no map behind to help us follow you
I shouted, called, cried out to you but you did not, or would not, hear my words
This morning I awoke to realise I have no desire
To walk the roads and take the route that led you to your end
My map shows me a different route, one that does not lead your way
Another direction beckons me for I am here to stay
I love my life – as you did not – your map was yours alone
To travel your roads, to reach the place where you could feel at home.

6 thoughts on “Writing 201: Poetry Day 5

  1. That is a heart-breaking poem, Ruth! Beautiful words, beautiful tone, beautiful imagery, and yes … beautiful metaphor! You DID have one an extended one, and it was part of the whole poem, as in these sorrowful lines:
    “The road to where you are lies way beyond my ken
    I cannot see where you have gone nor why you left us then
    You left no map behind to help us follow you …”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

