Poetry Assignment:  Day 3

Today our assignment is to write a free-form verse with the prompt ‘Skin’.  I found this so hard to do.  I usually love writing free-form verse, rhyming or not it doesn’t matter, but having this one word as the key just stumped me.

I think this one has taken me as long to write as the four verse Haiku I composed on Monday 🙂

Skin, that living breathing magical suit of armour within which the real self can hide
The colour doesn’t matter, it’s only a façade – a shop window, the real goods are inside
The heart, the soul, the mind – these are the treasures the skin protects
The innermost treasures that make each of us unique

One thought on “Writing 201: Poetry

Leave a Reply

