I’ve opted to do something different to the assignment today. To be honest, I’m almost ready to start writing my novel, but the complexity of it all is mind boggling. I need some help, and the best place I thought I could possibly find it is here amongst other writers.

Whilst writing my short story (great way to build up to a much longer novel), I’ve realised the need to keep an eye on characters, place, time, setting …. The list goes on and on. It’s so easy to make a mistake with details!
I’m the sort of person who likes to be organised, to have everything to hand when I need it, so, with this in mind, I’ve been researching writing programmes. I’ve narrowed the choice down to two – Scrivener (for Windows), and Write it Now Again for Windows). I generally use my Microsoft Surface to write on (currently 8.1 but thinking now of upgrading to the new Windows 10). My question is: has anyone had any experience of using either of these programmes and, if so, did you think they were useful? I also need to know if they work well on either Windows 8.1 or Windows 10.
If you have used any other writing programme, apart from Word, and found it useful, I’d love to hear about that too.

4 thoughts on “Writing programmes for Windows 8.1 or 10

  1. Hi Lynz, I’m still finding my way around Windows 10 but I think it is a great improvement so far. Only problem is that I downloaded the trial version for Scrivener but am unable to click on the exes file as it’s obliterated by the bottom of the screen and I can’t move the icon up. So frustrating. Waiting to hear back from their techies 😨

    Like

Leave a Reply

