The assignment for Writing 101 today has been to write a post based on a comment posted concerning a post my blog.  One comment that sprang immediately to mind came from Calensariel who had suggested that a short story I had written, in response to one of Shafali’s cue art prompts, might lend itself to being re-created as a full-length novel.

The post was called ‘Hidden Murder’ and I wrote it very quickly (about half an hour to sketch out the story, longer to write the words).  I knew, when I was writing it, that there was more to this story than I had time to write.  There was the full back story, the history of the house itself and its occupants, the weeks leading up to the day Jane Meadows had moved into the flat, and much more.  Whilst I was actually quite pleased with the way the short story had turned out, I also felt I had let it down somewhat by cutting it down as much as I was able.  However, that’s the way with short stories I guess.  It was one of my first and won’t be my last by quite some way.  I enjoy writing them.

However, I do plan to revisit this short story at some point, flesh out the ideas, tease out the stories that weren’t told and spend a bit more time and love on it.

I also plan to write a series of short stories, all linked by the main characters, and these I would like to publish if at all possible.  It’s a good way into the future but it is part of my overall goal.

I’ve always wanted to write, I’ve just never had the confidence to do so, but creating my blog and signing up for the Blogging 101, 201 and Writing 101 courses has given me the confidence to branch out and away from what I had always thought I would write about (and how I would write).  I’ve found my voice (thanks to my muse) and I wake up every day itching to write.  Life tends to get in the way – we need to eat after all – but every evening I sit here at my laptop and write something.  It’s enjoyable, it’s cathartic and it’s exciting all at the same time.

I’ve created a poll asking for feedback on what you would like to see more of from me, please click here to be taken to the post.  I’d love to know what you would prefer to read.

3 thoughts on “Re-thinking a short story

Leave a Reply

