Today’s assignment: ‘Consider what you want to accomplish with your blog. Write down three concrete goals’. 

Ooh yes – my goals.  These have changed since I first started writing this blog, mainly because I have found it such an ideal medium to practice my writing and find my writing voice.

My long term goal, and the reason I am now writing this blog, is that I want to write a novel that has somehow landed in my head, almost fully formed (at least the location, the characters, the plot), and also a series – underway with the short story Observing Murder  which I am currently writing and posting on a weekly basis.  I also want to practice writing in different forms – hence the novel, short story and pieces of verse I post now and again.

My ideal outcome would, naturally, be that I could write sufficiently well enough that I would attract the eye of a publisher who was prepared to invest in me.  What a wonderful dream – to be paid to be a writer, to achieve sales, to write for a living – a good living at that.  I am well aware that the likelihood of this happening is incredibly, if not impossibly thin, but that won’t stop me writing – it’s something I simply have to do.  We all have to have dreams don’t we 🙂

My three concrete goals are as follows:

  1. As I’m working on a short story at the moment, my first goal is to complete it within the next two months, and to get feedback.  I will post each instalment on Sunday evening (UK time), the next instalment being No.3 of Observing Murder.
  2. To firm up the structure for my novel and begin testing it for feedback.  This is a huge task as there are so many characters involved, so I’m setting my goal for this at three months – just before Christmas (yikes – I said that word).
  3. Increase feedback on my site and to increase my feedback to others – in other words, to create/become part of a supportive network/community with writing as its main interest.  This has to be ongoing so no date set for this.
  4. Because I couldn’t give a definitive concrete goal for number three, number four is to keep writing and posting five days a week – and look on it as a job as well as a pleasure.
8 thoughts on “Blogging 201

Leave a Reply

