This image I found in the free commons on the web – it has kick-started my imagination and I’m now using it to work an opening paragraph for a short(ish) story I want to write.Man in churchI’ve mapped out the central questions, and have started working on the character traits, the whys and wherefores of the man himself.  I’m rather excited as the story popped into my head last night, not quite fully formed but enough to work with.  It’s more than a fuzzy idea and the main characters in the story have already sprung fully formed in my mind – I can see and hear them.  I’m using an iPad app to collate all the various characters, the scene setting, the outlines, ideas, relationships, the time period (which is not the same as the man obviously inhabits in the image), and the central hook to hang my hat on.

I found the image last week and saved it, as it suggested so many permutations which could be moulded into a narrative.   I guess I’ve been thinking about it all week, as I kept on opening the image at least twice a day.  So now down to the actual writing…..

My aim is to work on this as the time allows, and publish a paragraph or two each Wednesday for my Wednesday Writings blog.  Some weeks I may not manage a paragraph from my story, but will always post something – a piece of poetry,  something suggested from the Daily Prompt, or a musing.

Have you used an image/prompt/quotation as a device to work a narrative around?

If you have, how did it work for you?  Did it help or hinder your imagination?  Did it allow you to generate new ideas/new ways of approaching your writing/change your writing style?

I’d love to hear from you and read about your own thoughts and experiences.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts

  1. They always work for me…an image, a news item, or even a word…they help me write. I recently wrote a short-story “The King’s Chamber” based on a Literary Lion prompt. I also used one of my own caricature-artworks for another story “The Highborn Lady and the Golden-haired Girl.” You are a writer so the prompts may work even better for you 🙂 A grain of sand can birth a pearl.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment – it’s interesting how and where we find our inspiration. Usually, for me, it’s a little thing, maybe a phrase or word, sometimes it’s a view or an object. I love your caricatures by the way – I wish I had such talent!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Ruth. You are so right about inspiration. Yesterday I was watching a documentary about The Tower of David in Caracas, Venezuela, and I ended up writing a short-story set in the tower. Then there are those times when I struggle to find an idea and draw a blank 😦

        Like

    1. Yes, I know what you mean 😄.
      I’ve stood in the middle of an English town and cancelled out all the modern trappings to ‘see’ something of how it would have appeared a couple of centuries ago.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

