In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Brilliant Disguise.”

I’m not sure exactly when it happened – when the ‘Me’ I thought I was became a stranger, but I do know why it happened.

I was never very confident being the ‘Me’ I thought I was, so to lose her was not a great problem – in all honesty I found it a relief to be free of her, but I miss her sometimes.  I often wonder where she went – if she exists somewhere in an alternate reality, and if she might come back some day.

The ‘Me’ I thought I was would never have voiced her opinion in a room full of strangers, would never have raised her head or hand for fear of being noticed, would have done anything to stay in the background.  Pathetic little creature.

But what if, some day, she returns and the ‘Me’ I know I am allows her to steal my place?  When I’m old and cannot stop her, perhaps when my mind starts to wander, perhaps if I fall ill and no longer have the strength to keep her out, maybe then she’ll win and kick the ‘Me’ I know I am into touch.

So then, which ‘Me’ is the real ‘Me’ and which one wearing a mask to present herself to the world?  I’ll fight for the ‘Me’ I know I am because, even if this ‘Me’ is the one wearing the mask it is the ‘Me’ I know as myself and the ‘Me’ as others know me.  The other ‘Me’ remains a stranger because life, love and experience has clothed me with the best disguise there is – confidence.

5 thoughts on “The ‘Me’ I thought was ‘Me’

  1. Beautiful post ruthlakes. There is something to be said about the effects of confidence and how it can change who you are and who you think you are. For some, it has lots of positive effects but sometimes there are negative consequences.
    I think that the “Me” you thought you were is just part of the “Me” you are but she has decided to stay in the background and let the other side of you take over. Some things call for reservation and elusiveness and others call for a bit of bombastic action. Learning to use both effectively would be the goal I assume.
    Take care 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I so agree Darkwriter11, and thank you for your lovely comment. We are all affected in some way by our experiences, they’re what make us who we are – and, in some ways, who we choose to be. The prompt had led me to reflect on this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

